You are here

San Diego Hall of Champions will host the  Fall Awards Night Dec. 15

SAN DIEGO—(Dec. 9, 2014)—Oceanside High’s Josh Bernard and Mission Hills’ DeChaun Holiday were selected as the football Players of the Year by a select group of media and coaches as part of eight sports that were honored.

The entire first and second teams in every sport will be awarded Breitbard certificates at the annual All-CIF Fall Awards Night on Monday, Dec. 15 starting at 6 p.m. at the Hall of Champions.  Former Lincoln High All-CIF standout Derrick Goodwin will be the guest speaker.

Bernard was the offensive Player of the Year in leading the Pirates to the section title. He rushed for 1,371 yards and 24 TDs during the regular season and also starred on defense.

Holiday was the most avoided player in the county while earning Defensive Player of the Year honors. The defensive back was rarely tested but he still picked off two passes and returned them for touchdowns.

Elsewhere, other sports Players of the Year included section champions Trevor Siniscalchi of Westview and Kelly Bernd of Canyon Crest for cross country, San Pasqual’s Haley Moore for golf, Torrey Pines’ Savannah Rennie for volleyball,  Torrey Pines freshman singles champion Hannah Zhao for tennis, Cathedral Catholic’s Cooper Milton for water polo and Serra’s Emily Tran for field hockey.

For complete lists of all the 2014 All-CIF Players of the year visit:

For more information, contact Steve Brand at or 619-699-2311.

PDF icon 2014 FALL ALL-CIF143.11 KB