You are here

Keflezighi heads list of half-dozen standouts selected by the San Diego Hall of Champions

SAN DIEGO—(Jan. 17, 2015)—The picture of  San Diego High graduate Mebrahtom Keflezighi crossing the finish line at the 2014 Boston Marathon will forever be etched into the minds of those who remembered only too well the bombing just one year earlier.

An American winning sent a powerful message worldwide and not only because of the victory, but because of the gravity of the event. Meb is one of a half-dozen professional athletes who will be honored as 2014 Professional Athletes of the Year at the 69th Salute to the Champions on Monday, Feb. 23, at the Town & Country Resort and Convention Center.

With the Boston victory, in a lifetime best of 2-hours, 8-minutes and 37 seconds no less, Meb etched his name in the record books as the only American to win both the Boston and New York City Marathons (2010).

That same evening, former San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson, baseball great Chris Chambliss and baseball/basketball standout Tony Clark will be inducted into the Breitbard Hall of Fame.

Meb will be joined in the spotlight by the San Diego Chargers record-setting duo of quarterback Philip Rivers and tight end Antonio Gates, San Diego Sockers captain Kraig Chiles, San Diego Padres Pitcher of the Year Tyson Ross and former San Diego State basketball standout Kawhi Leonard, who was named the MVP of the 2014 NBA playoffs.

Tickets to the Salute to the Champions awards banquet are available by contacting Terri Rochon at or by calling 619-699-2302.