You are here

National Champions among nine to be feted at the 69th Annual Salute to the Champions on Feb. 23

SAN DIEGO—(Jan. 15, 2015)—Capturing one NCAA title in track is considered a major accomplishment. Mac Fleet, a senior at the University of Oregon, doubled that by defending his Division I 1,500-meter title in June, earning him 2014 Significant Achievement honors as selected by the San Diego Hall of Champions.

He and four other state and national champions will be in the spotlight at the 69th Salute to the Champions banquet Feb. 23, at the Town & Country Resort and Convention Center. That same evening, former San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson, baseball great Chris Chambliss and baseball/basketball standout Tony Clark will be inducted into the Breitbard Hall of Fame.

Fleet, a graduate of University City High, used a late surge, just as he did in 2013, to thrill a home crowd in Eugene, Oregon, capturing his second straight metric mile crown in 3-minutes, 39.09-seconds. He won by just four-hundreths of a second over Arizona’s Lawi Lalang.

University of California San Diego swimmer Nicholas Korth will be honored for capturing the NCAA 200-yard breaststroke title in a Division II and school-record time of 1-minute, 54.45-seconds while the Point Loma Nazarene’s men’s basketball team will be honored for winning the National Christian College Athletic Association crown in 2014.

State high school champions Dotun Ogundeji of Madison and the Francis Parker’s girls volleyball team will also be recognized. Ogundeji equaled his lifetime best in the shot put at 65-feet, 5 ½-inches to capture the state crown last spring in Clovis while the Lancers rolled to their third consecutive Division V volleyball championship with a 3-1 win over Ross Branson.