You are here



The Breitbard Hall of Fame, established in 1953 by Robert Breitbard, honors athletes who have excelled athletically in San Diego or who are native San Diegans and have achieved athletic fame elsewhere. Since 1953, the Breitbard Hall of Fame has inducted 140 members representing 20 sports. The Hall of Fame’s charter member is Harold “Brick” Muller, a standout for the “Wonder Boy” Cal Berkeley football teams of 1920, 1921 & 1922.

New members are inducted each February at the Salute to the Champions dinner. The Breitbard Hall of Fame originally stemmed from the Breitbard Athletic Foundation, founded in 1946. After initially awarding only Stars of the Month, and then Stars of the Year, the Foundation decided upon a career achievement award, and the Breitbard Hall of Fame was born. To be inducted into the Breitbard Hall of Fame is the ultimate accolade for a local athlete.

Salute to the Champions - February 1, 2018

GARRY TEMPLETON affectionately nicknamed “Tempy” by San Diego Padres fans, came to the club in 1982 and was a stalwart at shortstop through 1991. He was a three-time All-Star and two-time Silver Slugger, finishing with 2,096 hits. He is a Padres Hall of Famer.

ROBBIE HAINES captured seven world sailing championships in four different classes. Robbie was the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games gold medalist in the soling class and the San Diego native is still active in local sailing. 

CLAUDE GILBERT was the head coach at San Diego State from 1973 to 1980, winning three conference titles and finishing 10-1 in both 1976 and 1977. His Aztecs scored a program boosting 41-16 victory over Florida State, then ranked No. 16 in the nation, in 1977.